Hey you, part 67

Hey you,

Yes, you. No, this is not a letter to some long lost love that I will probably never ever see again. And no, this is not going to be some long lost emotional post that I’ve been keeping in the drawing board. This is my letter from me to you, the ones who have been following this blog.

Okay first of all, if you haven’t noticed, the blog has been here for a year now. That’s right, this emotional sad sack of a writer has been posting for over a year. In that regards, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO ME! (pops imaginary party poppers)

I didn’t know what to do at that time or what I really wanted to do with this blog. All I know is that I wanted to write a hugot, but not an ordinary one. I just wanted it show how I felt at that time. I didn’t even know if someone was ever going to read it. Poorly written, in Tagalog no less, and I just wanted to see if someone was going to read the story. And you guys did. Thank you!

And just like that, this blog started. I’ve written stories, hugots, speeches, letters to nobody. I’ve written about music and books and if you’ve seen my other blog, I’ve written about burgers. I have written about everything under the sun. I just wanted to write because writing, as you may well know, is cathartic and this blog is all about catharsis (and not necessarily about hugot).

That takes me to the second part of this letter to you guys. I have to apologize since I have been somewhat remiss in updating this small corner of the internet. I have been working hard on a few projects here and there and like most things, this gets forgetten. I have always told myself that writers, well they have to write, and for the past few months I haven’t been writing at all. For that, I apologize to you, my readers, and to myself. I was not being true to myself. My heart belongs to writing and I promise, I will write again and I will throw myself to this task of writing my heart out every damn day. I won’t be posting as much, but I’ll promise you my material will be here for you guys when they finish.

I’ll also take this opportunity to apprise you guys of what’s been happening in my life. First off, I’m now a published writer. A local version of a giant magazine brand (it rhymes with SCHMESHQUIRE) picked up one of my articles (finance and investments, don’t ask please) and it got published. This is the first time anyone has ever published any of my articles and yahoo, I’m now officially a professional writer! CHEERS!

I’ve also been working on a few social media sites and I’ve been handling the Facebook and twitter pages for a foundation that builds libraries all over the Philippines. If you guys have the time, check it out the Exempli Gratia Foundation.

Lastly, I’ve been writing a very long story which I just can’t end. But when it’s done, I’ll post it here and I’ll let you guys tell me what you think.

With that, I thank all of you for being here in this journey. Now let’s start a new one. Who knows what crazy, literary adventures we’ll have.

Love lots,

Ang Huling Hugotero

 

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Welcome back, happy anniversary, congratulations on your new adventure, Happy Halloween, Merry Christmas and best wishes!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations!! Nakakatuwa naman yung napublish yung write up mo. Yehey!! 🙂 can’t wait to read your story. Post mo na! Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay you’re back! Congrats on being published !
    Words should never be a chore, or they lose their soul. You do you, and keep writing 🙂

    Like

  4. I just read this now? 😮

    Congrats on being a published writer, bro Ared! Hope to read your work. 🙂 hopefully makagawa ka rin ng novel. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

