Angels

So this happened today.

After a long day of meetings, I was packing up and I noticed something. My wallet was missing.

Now if you knew me for a long time, you would know that this happens to me a lot. I am absentminded as hell especially when I get tired and I tend to lose track of things. And I was especially absent minded today because I was juggling so many things at the same time.

Now you’d think I would be used to this by now, but I never do. It’s still incredibly frustrating. It still sucks the wind out of me. I still get incredibly angry at why this happens to me all the time.
And so I did what I do when this happens to me. I panicked. I raced down the building into the rain rushing back to where I parked my car.
And because I was running, I slipped on the access ramp on the sidewalk and fell in a puddle of water. An old lady that was walking on the sidewalk ran up to me and asked if I was okay. I was a bit shaken up and I looked up at her face and I thought I recognized her. I mumbled I was okay but for the life of me I couldn’t place where I met her before.
I thanked her and went to my parking spot and got into the car and off I went to the last place I remembered taking out my wallet. There I was stuck in traffic, marinating in the muck and grime of Makati and I was sullen and angry at the world. To be honest, I was ready to blow up and punch a wall.

So I backtracked all the places that I had been during that day, and finally, after an hour and thirty minutes and begging security guards to let me park for just ten seconds, I found my wallet again.

I was in contact with my friends and my colleagues and my family and they were all helping me in whatever way they can. My thanks and my profound apologies for being such a tool during that time. Thank you, thank you for being there for me.

But now I remember who that old lady was and why it was so significant. You see, a couple of years back I was serving in a small community in Salcedo. I joined in the services because it took my mind off the stress of Makati life. That old lady also served there and she would always ask how I was.

Then I got sick and was rushed to the ICU and I was on the edge of death for nearly 5 days. When I was recovering, that same old lady visited me in the hospital. I really felt her concern when I was there and I was genuinely touched.

To see her again today was maybe God’s way of telling me that everything was going to be all right. And maybe, no matter how you look at it, there are angels in your life. They sometimes dish tough love or stay to listen to you gripe or keep you calm enough to retrace your steps and find your way. They come in the form of great friends, loved ones and kind old ladies from the past.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is hold on to the angels in your lives. When it gets frustrating and you just want to give up, you know who’ll bring you back to your senses.

Ang Huling Hugotero

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Your posts always bring me back to my senses. I was relieved, akala ko talaga nawala na yung site niyo po. So overwhelmed I found it again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Ared. You on a hiatus?
    Keep safe, anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

