Sonnet No. 2

Ah there it is
That old familiar feeling
My heart is an abyss
My soul is dying

I should not be feeling this way
These notions of discontent
This is supposed to be my day
But why do I feel rent?

I suppose it comes with the territory
I embraced this sadness
I lapped at it greedily
I pined for its caress

And now the darkness is there again
What I thought I left behind resurfaces
It wells from inside this pain
It knifes my insides into pieces

I wander in this world of melancholy
I search for what makes me truly happy

Leave a Reply

