Courage

This past week I have been feeling overwhelmed. My defenses have been overrun. I feel that life is crushing me. The enormity of all the work I have to do has left me numb and I do not know what to do. I simply have a lot on my plate right now and I’m feeling really lost. I know I’m not alone in this so I’m going to share something that may surprise you.

One of the things that I value a lot is my faith. I have been very particular about this aspect of myself that this is one of the things that I silo from this blog. I have always felt that this is where I pour out all my negativity and my unwanted emotions and I wanted my faith and ministry to be isolated from what this blog is all about. Lately however I’ve come to realize that I’m going about this the wrong way. My faith is an integral part of myself that needs a presence here.

So here I am feeling a little broken, feeling a trifle bit lost and I am really grasping at straws right now. So when I’m feeling down and I’m feeling afraid, I turn to Joshua.

If you remember who Joshua is, he is the young man chosen to succeed Moses when the Israelites had entered the Promised Land. Moses had recently died and the huge responsibility of taking care of a whole nation of people fell on the hands of an inexperienced leader. I would imagine that Joshua would have been afraid at this moment because the enormous task of taking care of this multitude, let alone that he needs to do so through hostile enemy territory and following the footsteps of one the greatest leaders in history. It would crush anyone. God though speaks to him and says this line which I quote from Joshua 1:9.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

God is giving Joshua the ultimate peptalk. He’s telling him yeah I know this is hard. Yeah, this is a pretty difficult task that I am setting you up with. But you know what, I’m here right beside you and I won’t ever, ever leave your side. And if God is with you, then who can be against you?

So Monday is coming tomorrow and some of us do not know how to handle the things that we have to face. We are afraid. We are lost. Here I am telling you to have COURAGE. You and I have an ally by our side. Keep strong. YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

anghulinghugutero

9 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great positive words! Kaya mo yan!! Whatever you are going through. Be strong!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the kind and inspiring words. Everyone is fighting a different kind of battle, everyday. Hope you gain the courage to fight yours, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are not alone. I am here with you. – Michael Jackson

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Keep the strong faith. I have been through the same experience. Just keep praying and trust God. 🙂 It will get better. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

